Election results are in
Council Elections Elections governance Office of the Registrar

2021 College Council election results

Members in Districts 3, 4 and 8 have new RECEs joining Council for a three-year term. As members of the 24-person Council governing the College, they will oversee policy development and make decisions related to entry to practice requirements, ethical and professional standards, professional misconduct, incompetence and incapacity.​

Please join us in congratulating our new and returning Council members. Thank you to everyone who ran in the elections and to those who voted.  

Richard Stronach RECE – District 3    

Richard is a Professor at St. Lawrence College, teaching in the early childhood education program. He has previous experience working with the College as he served as a non-Council committee member on the Complaints Committee. “Being an ECE for more than 27 years has given me a breadth of well-rounded knowledge of this fantastic field. I am incredibly honoured to continue to support my profession as an elected Council member.”       

Millie Forbes RECE – District 4

Millie is a Quality and Contract Compliance Advisor with the Regional Municipality of Durham, which means she’s conducting quality assurance inspections, providing training to the early learning team, collaborating with community partners and leading sessions in various Communities of Practice. Millie has worked in the profession for more than 35 years and is incredibly passionate about supporting educators with ongoing learning. “I look forward to bringing my expertise and passion for continuous learning to Council. I truly believe that early learning and care professionals are essential contributors to their communities.”

Stacee Stevenson RECE – District 4

Stacee holds the position of Supervisor of Extended Day Programs with the YMCA of Greater Toronto. She has been in the ECE field for more than 20 years as both an Educator and in leadership roles. “I’m thrilled to bring to Council my positivity as a leader and my passion for the profession. This position will allow me to continue supporting the profession and promoting the highest standards.”

Ela Smith RECE, MSW, RSW – District 8

Ela is a Professor at Fanshawe College within their ECE program. She is also the Chair of the Ontario Association of Children’s Aid Societies Board of Governors. Throughout her career, Ela has focused on children’s mental health and advocacy. Ela has held positions such as Executive Director, Program Director, and Indigenous Curriculum Development Specialist. “I work from a trauma-informed lens so that I can encourage people to critically reflect on how their practice impacts the world. I’m ready to bring this approach, along with all I’ve learned in leadership roles, to Council.”

Teresa Sulowski RECE – District 8

Teresa works as a part-time Professor at both Fanshawe and Conestoga Colleges, and is also Supervisor of Children’s Services for the City of St. Thomas. She has served as an elected member for the past three years, sitting on a variety of committees. “Over the course of 25 years working in the profession, I’ve had opportunities to lead, build strong relationships with my peers and community, and continue to grow as an RECE. This is another one of those incredible opportunities and I’m grateful to have been re-elected.”

The College is divided into eight electoral districts, or geographic regions, across the province. Elections are held every year in different districts, and each district elects a specific number of members to Council. More information about Council elections is available on the College’s website.